Planet Crafter

Planet Crafter just came out of Early Access last week, and is on sale for 30% off until the 24th.

It’s a first person perspective survival base building game that now supports a controller (yay!) and multiplayer if you’re into that kind of thing. In addition to building your base, you also build terraforming equipment to transform the planet from a barren lifeless husk into a vibrant world teeming with life. The look and feel are reminiscent of Subnautica, though of course without water (at least to start?) and I have no idea what kind of story elements there are.

I started playing it on Thursday once I realized it now has controller support, and I am loving it to death. One minor tip I was spoiled about I will share here, as it seems like a fair spoiler to know going in: Build your first base somewhat elevated because the water will come. I still have no idea how high, though.

There is a creative mode where you can plan out your perfect base, but I’m holding off on that until I get this first playthrough far enough where I understand what would make a good base.

In terms of just starting out, the first thing that struck me is that you can’t grow your own food. (Yet.) So right at the start exploration is at a premium so you can find little blue chests around the map which usually have some food in them.

On the plus side, death is not punishing. You drop some of the stuff from your inventory, but it gets dropped into a temporary chest where you die, and you can just run back to pick it up without losing anything. Similar to Grounded, now that I think about it.