Points on Driving License

In this thread, Just deal with the ticket, the posters say… , several posters make reference to the number of points a ticket has.

Can someone explain this briefly? If Illinois has such a system I am blissfully unaware of it.

Just look up Points System on Wikipedia. Basically, you get varying numbers of penalty points for various offences, and if when you reach certain target(s) Bad Things Happen, such as having your licence temporarily revoked. Round here, that also tends to mean that next year’s car insurance bill goes up massively, so it’s at least a double whammy.
In the US, it appears that there are points systems in California, Colorado, Florida, New York, and Texas.

I am not a traffic lawyer or police officer, but here’s my understanding of how the point system works here in Colorado:

Points are a way to punish chronic offenders by keeping track of past offenses. When you get a traffic ticket (speeding, running a stop sign, DUI, etc) in addition to the fines / jail time, you also get X points on your license.

If you accumulate a certain number of points, then the state revokes your license. For Colorado adult drivers (under 21 and under 18 have different standards), this is 12 points in a 12 month period, or 18 points in a 24 month period. A ticket for going 15 mph over the speed limit is 4 points. So if you get three of those in a year, then basically the state says that as a repeat offender you’re no longer privileged to drive. A common offer in a plea bargain is to plead guilty to a lesser charge which has fewer points than the original ticket. Only points for violations that you were convicted of or plead guilty to count. So if you were ticketed for 15 mph over (a four point violation) and plead guilty to 9 over (a one point violation) you’d only get one point.

I did some googling, and it looks like Illinois does have a point system, but it’s different than Colorado’s: