Pork loin top roast + slow cooker + X = Yummy!

But what is X?

More seriously, I’ve got a 2.52lb pork loin roast thawing, and I’d like to be able to put it in the crock pot (slow cooker) and feed myself something awesome.

I have pantry staples, in general. Anything I don’t have, I’m willing to go out and get.

Oh, I also have a pressure cooker (electric), if that’s better. I’ve never used it before, but I’m interested in doing so. I’m just trying to have food I cook myself and avoid heating up the house.

Any suggestions or recipes?

I always heard that carnivores tasted terrible?

:smiley:

Note from Moderator: Title originally spelt “lion” which explains this comment. We fixed the spelling in the title, so this comment now seems puzzling and I thought an explanation was in order. '-- CKDH

http://chowhound.chow.com/topics/361282 has some wonderfully yummy sounding ideas.

My mom used to cook pork ribs and sauerkraut in the pressure cooker, but I think pork loin is too lean for that.

**X **should be pineapple juice. I’ve done pork roasts in the crockpot with about 8-10 ounces of pineapple juice and a cup or so of water, and let it cook all day. The acids in the juice break down the meat so it’s incredibly tender, and adds a nice sweetness. A Vidalia onion, sliced up and laid in the bottom of the crockpot and on top of the roast, is always good, too.

Yeah, my advice would be not to use loin for slow cooking. Shoulder is the perfect cut of meat for that. Loin ends up dry and stringy to my tastes. However, plenty of people seem to like slow-cooked loin just fine, and the recipes in your linked thread would be a good start.