"Professional references - Please do not list employers" - WTF?

Disclaimer: I’m not sure if there’s a “standard” definition of a professional reference. I’m assuming that there is, thus the posting in GQ instead of IMHO. My apologies if I’m wrong.

So I’m applying for a job at a university library. I think I’m qualfied for it, since I have about 5 years aggregate experience working in a library (I worked there at different times, at different positions), but under the “Professional References” section of the application, it says to not list employers.

WTF? Wouldn’t they want employers’ opinions? My take on it is that they may not want the opinions of present employers, though that doesn’t really make much sense to me either.

GQ part of the question: What, exactly, is considered a professional reference? And, similarly, what exactly is an employer? (Read: do you think I can list former co-workers that weren’t my direct supervisor?)

IMHO part of the question: If I can’t list former employers, who the heck should I list? It’s not as if I have a broad network of library professionals to call on if I can’t list the ones I’ve worked with…

And FTR, I emailed the HR department asking them the same questions, with no response. Nor do they seem terribly keen on returning phone calls (all they have is voice mail) either.

My WAG: many employers cannot or will not provide job references due to company policy. If you are hired, or NOT hired, because of an assertion made in the reference process, your past employer may be liable in a lawsuit.

So list peers (non-supervisory coworkers at your former employer should be acceptable) and/or professional associates who worked for other employers.

And make sure anyone whose name you use knows that you are using them as a reference.