Professionals, independent contractors and B2B people, how do you market your services?

Right now, I’m an articling student (a lawyer apprentice) and will become a lawyer in October. I don’t plan to seek employment in a firm but rather go on my own.

I don’t have to worry very much when it comes to money. I live at home and can meet clients at the courthouse’s meeting rooms or at the clients’ place. The investment required is less than 1000$ upfront for office equipment and about 100$ a month for transportation and communications plus 1300$ a year for bar fees.

Doing law is rather easy when you have the education, the smarts and the personality for it. It’s not what I’m worried about. Getting contracts is. I’m looking to market legal services to businesses. Some people on this board have experience in similar circumstances and I’d like to know what you’ve learned and how you go about it.

IANAL, but I don’t think this is the best way to get your career started. You can’t get contracts without contacts. So unless you have a bunch of business contacts already, where do you expect to find them? You don’t necessarily have to start in a firm. You could apply to the legal department at large companies (like insurance companies or ) and build your own B2B contacts there.

No business I can think of is going to be willing to hire a brand new lawyer freelance-style. I’ve also never heard of a lawyer working out of their own home, that adds another layer of shadiness. Lawyer jobs are actually super-competitive right now (even before the economy tanked). So you have bad timing, the overall job market, and inexperience working against you.

I mean, if you try to start freelancing without your own contacts, you’ll be stuck taking out ads in phone books or newspapers or on websites, or cold-calling businesses. In a firm or at a business, the work comes to YOU.