Q's for the photograpers around...

I gotta have art-type photos taken of me this weekend. An art student friend of mine is doing it partly for practice for herself, and I need portraits taken anyhow. They’re going to be black and white pictures.

I’m trying to figure out what to wear for them. I know not to wear prints or stripes or busy stuff, but what shades are good? I’m extremely pale, so I thought probably a light colored fabrics would help, but I’m not sure. What looks best? Any other hints?

Also, out of sheer curiosity. what makes it so that people have a “good” side and a “bad” side? Last I checked, my face looks about the same both sides, but I know for a fact that I’m going to look weird if shots are taken from the left.

I’m not a pro photographer, but I love black and white stuff and play with them a lot. IMO, go classic. Black and white gives the image of “old fashioned” no matter what the setting. I took a lot of B/W pics of my wife and she is “tan challenged” and it didn’t seem to matter. Greys and blues looked good, and blacks made a very nice contrast. Whites weren’t quite as good, but that is just opinion of the cameraman.

To me, keep it simple, but throw in a lot of contrast. Go with a tux or something similar. The rest is in the skill of who has the camera.

Heh. Probably I’ll skip the tux, as it’s not real gender-appropriate.
:slight_smile:

It hadn’t occurred to me to try contrast, though. Does anyone know of any good sites with nice b/w photos that I’d be able to peruse for ideas?

Hey SIC

Tuxedos are appropriate these days for both genders. I’m a member of a fraternal organization that admits women, and our officers wear tuxedos to perform certain ceremonies.

When women were admitted, it was standard to ask them to wear a dark skirt or slacks and a white shirt. However, one of the women went out and bought a tuxedo with tails and wore it to the ceremonies. I had my doubts as to how it would look, but I was wrong, She looked incredible!