Question for emergency responders

I recently read that if you are incapacitated in an accident, emergency responders will go through your cell phone address book looking for entries like “ICE wife”, ICE standing for “In Case of Emergency,” and call that person. Is this true? Would pretty much any emergency responder recognize that entry in a cell phone address book, and know to call that number?

I’ve wondered this also. My phone has an option to label an entry “In Case Of Emergancy,” then that entry is coded red in my contact list.

Wikipedia article doesn’t offer much help. Snopes article isn’t much help either.

It wouldn’t hurt to try but I wouldn’t bet my life on it. Snopes explains why.

Well cell phones were still outside the price of the masses when I was an EMT, even so we would try and check an ID to at least associate a name with the patient. The hospital would handle the familial contacts. EMS personell are usually primarily interested in addressing the problem, less so the specifics of who you are and who should be contacted WRT your wishes. If you really want that get something akin to a medicalert bracelet or necklace and engrave the info there. Those will be checked.

If we find you unconscious on the side of the road, we’re probably not going to go through your cell phone looking for numbers to call. However, it will help later on at the hospital if there’s no other way of identifying you.

St. Urho
Paramedic

I’m not an emergency responder, but I have extensive experience with a “lost and found” department that gets lots of lost cell phones. The first thing we look for is anything labeled “mom” or “parents”. Mom always knows another way to contact you (or in yours case, who you are).

Expanding on St. Urho’s response, I’ve never looked through a patient’s belongings to find their identity or other information about them, short of a medic alert bracelet/necklace.