questions about life after weightlifting

At age 23, I started lifting weights. Pretty dedicated, I hit the gym 3 times a week, about 90 minutes a time. As you might expect, my physique changed dramatically over the course of a few years; I gained a fair bit of muscle mass in my upper body. At my best, I was able to bench-press 235 pounds.

By age 30 or so, my life circumstances had changed, and I lost interest.

I am now 44. I do the odd bit of manual labor here and there, but I haven’t done any weightlifting for 14 years or so. I had expected that by now my musculature would have faded away to something like what I had as a scrawny 22YO, but that hasn’t been the case; I’ve retained a surprising amount of mass in my chest, arms and shoulders. Is this normal, or do most folks revert to their pre-weightlifting condition once they completely stop?

On a related note, my elbows are now crunchy when moving under load. Not clear whether this is arthritis that comes with aging, or joint damage from my weight-lifting days. Which got me to wondering (my next question): do professional body builders suffer from joint damage as they get older? My 235-pound bench press is peanuts compared to the 400+ pounds put up by guys like Scharzenegger, and those sorts of guys probably keep at it longer than I did. Is it common for former pro body builders to end up seriously crippled as they approach their golden years?

From what I know a lot of pro bodybuilders and wrestlers end up crippled (and by a lot I mean far more than a random sample of people). However much of that is likely due to drug abuse and pushing their bodies too hard too long. Several of the pro wrestlers and pro bodybuilders I followed in the 90s is now dead or disabled. However, I have no idea how that applies to amateur lifters like yourself who do not engage in extremely strict dieting, many hours a week of lifting and polypharmacy.