Recommend me some Spanish-language music!

I’m seriously considering moving to South America for a year or so, near the end of the year (I’m an ESL teacher), and I’m trying to improve my Spanish before I go. Along with enrolling in an evening Spanish class, and reading Spanish language Calvin and Hobbes, I thought finding some decent Spanish-language music to listen to might help my ear, or at the very least, spark my motivation when I’m feeling lazy.

Now, I know very few Spanish musicians, but I get the impression that if I go looking indiscriminately, most of what I get will be Shakira and bubblegum pop. So I thought I’d turn to the Dope for help finding Spanish music I’d like.

I already know and like Los Lobos. I’ve heard Roderigo y Gabriela. I enjoy Spanish guitar in general.

When it comes to English-language music, I like bands like Iggy and the Stooges, Velvet Underground, Brian Eno, Gogol Bordello…that sort of thing.

Can anyone recommend some great Spanish-language bands or songs I should check out?

Thanks!

A friend of mine has a website: http://www.howlingearth.com/

Not so much Iggy, VU, etc., but a good place to hear traditional music from the region.

Oh, traditional music is great. I’ve only really heard traditional music from Spain before (well, when it comes to music from Spanish language cultures). I’ll check it out, thanks!

Alex Ubago’s “Fantasia o Realidad” CD is terrific from beginning to end.

It’s mellow, romantic music, but it’s good songwriting rather than schlock. The fact that it’s mostly slow songs actually helps Spanish learners to pick up on the lyrics, I find.

One problem: He’s from Spain, so it’s not exactly South American Spanish.

Some people hate on Mana, the Mexican rock band, but I like them a lot, too. Their last album, “Amar es Combatir,” was great, and their new one is due out any day now.

I like rock’n’roll en espanol. Mana, Cafe Tacuba, and Kinky are some of my favorites.