recommend video games for me

I spend too much of my free time getting pissed off at the news, watching stupid YouTube videos, and drinking. I need another hobby.

I’ve decided I need to take up gaming.

I haven’t done any gaming in years. I understand that video games have evolved a helluva lot since the days of Doom. (Seriously, do people still call them “video games”, even? I’m like Rip Van Winkle here.)

I’m a middle aged dude. I like puzzles and mysteries (I’m a cybersecurity guy by profession). Playing with other humans would be nice, but a single-player game is OK too.

I don’t think I’m looking for a first-person shooter, at least not of the kind I used to play. My reaction time, spatial reasoning, and fine motor skills, never that great to begin with, are absolute shit now. A game where I have to do a lot of combat is probably not for me. I don’t mind having to off someone now and again; I just don’t want to have to rush through halls blasting monsters left and right.

I’ve also read that some video games have really high quality writing, and the players get to be involved in an engrossing drama. I think I’d like that.

I guess ideally I’m looking for a game where I can play detective, have time to ponder pieces of a puzzle, and get wrapped up in the drama. Maybe bust a cap in a guy’s ass if it’s really called for.

Or maybe that’s not what I’m looking for. Hell, I don’t know. You tell me!

I can do PC, Linux, or Android. I don’t have an iOS device.

Lay it on me.

Are you familiar with a lil game called Portal?

I haven’t played it but L.A. Noire is a detective game with not as much hair-trigger combat requirements.

I really liked the walking sims Firewatch and What Remains of Edith Finch.

The Witness is great if you’re into pure puzzling with minimal storylines. The Talos Principle is much more dialogue heavy but again has great puzzles.