Reserved Rights

More and more lately I’ve been seeing signs in stores that say something along the lines of “We reserve the right to search your bags before you exit.” Can one tacitly abrogate his/her right to due process by entering such a store? It seems to me that they need to call the cops if they suspect me of stealing something, and, sign or no sign, they have no right to search my bags. Any legal scholars in the house that can give me the straight dope on this?

I’m no legal scholar, but I had my share of interaction with shoplifters when I worked in retail. I think the confusion here comes from the use of the word “rights”. Your rights differ depending on whether the entity you are dealing with is government or private. For instance, you have the constitutional right of freedom of assembly which cannot be abridged by the government, but a private entity can forbid you from gathering on their property. The store in this instance does not have a “right” to inspect your bags, but they certainly have the option to do so. You have the option to not shop there if the policy bothers you.

The store can detain you on suspicion of shoplifting, and use reasonable force to do so (if you run, they can chase you; if you fight, they can restrain you). If they choose to prosecute, then the police will generally be called.

The overwhelming majority of people have more than the average (mean) number of legs. – E. Grebenik

If I own a 7-11, can I arbitrarily assert the right to smash my customers in the face? They have the option of not shopping there if they don’t like it. Even the thing about detaining shoplifting suspects is more complicated, I think. I’m pretty sure that a store (or the manager/owner thereof) faces serious legal liabilities if s/he detains someone who turns out not to have stolen anything.