Resume advice please.

Apropos of nothing, I have decided to apply for a new job. It has been a LOOOONG time since I’ve done this sort of thing, and I’m not sure what sort of detail to include on my resume, and how far back I should go.

I’m assuming that I don’t need to list where I got my high-school diploma because I have a degree so the fact that I have the diploma is sort of a given. Also, it was 17 years ago and I can’t imagine that it’s relevant. Is that a reasonable assumption?

Secondly, how much job related detail should I include? I’m going to list the relevant positions going back 10 years (well, 13 actually) but I’m not sure how much of a description of each position I need. I plan on elaborating on important details of each position in my cover letter. Should I offer a brief description of each position? An in depth list? Or just list each position? There are quite a number to list (I do a number of relevant things concurrently).

How many pages can the thing be? Back in the day 2 pages was supposed to be the limit (exclusive of references). Is that still accurate? Does it depend on the position?

Finally, I don’t plan on doing any of the “print it on coloured paper” or “scent it” or anything like that - I assume that was a fad that has died like a dog, correct? FWIW both the cover letter and resume will be reviewed by real live people as opposed to a computer scanning program, and will be turned in, in hard copy as opposed to an e-file.

Any tips to make this thing somewhat current would be great. :slight_smile:

I’m interested in the response to this also.

If this is for a professional position, the best advice I can give you is to locate a good resume service. They have the skills and know what HR departments are looking for today. Face it, a resume is something the average person thinks about only when they’re looking for a job. 2 years? 5? 20?