See that? It's the speed limit.

Stop tailgating me! I’m a new driver, and I just got my license in June. I’ll be the first one to admit I’m not the best driver on the road, which is why I stick to the fucking speed limit. When I’m picking up my sisters from school, I’m likely to even go a little slower (gasp!) than the posted limit, especially on a curve. So stop driving two feet behind me. It makes it dangerous to brake quickly, like I had to today when that bonehead pulled around the mail truck 15 feet in front of me. I needed to brake, but surprise, surprise, someone was right on my freaking bumper.
It’s 35mph. You’ll live.

Note:Can anyone give me a tip as to how to get tailgaters to back off?

You’re just going to have to bite the bullet and realize that for so long as you drive slow, jerks will tailgate. I’m not saying that you should driver faster than you think is safe. I’m just saying that if you drive slow, that’s gonna happen. Fact of life.

I understand that now you think 55 is fast. Give it a year.

Slowing down is good. I saw a white station wagon a few months ago that had “If you ride my tail I will slow down” handwritten across the back. If there are a bunch of cars lined up behind you, you should maybe pull over and let them pass. Good on you for refusing to drive faster than you’re comfortable. If they think driving a little slowly makes them late, they should try getting into an accident sometime. That will make you late…

Well, seeing as your location says Atlanta then you’re doomed to live with dangerous aggressive drivers. I was shocked by how so on my last visit, and I’m not easily shocked on that front. I also saw lots of Detroit roadkill. Sorry, dude. Just be careful and keep as far right as your particular road will allow.

I also slow down when people are following too closely. If they are going to hit me, they will have to do it at a slow speed and do less damage.