Sending out generic resume's

I’m getting really frustrated at how hard it is to find a job. I apply for specific job openings but I’m getting desperate and really tempted to just send out resumes to companies.

Would this hurt me, help me, or make no difference? If the standard response of HR is to just throw away an unsolicited resume then that doesn’t bother me. If it could somehow interfere with me applying for an actual opening then obviously I wouldn’t want that.

So, should I give it a try because I have nothing to lose, or is there some risk involved?

Well, honestly if you make obvious proofreading errors like in the title of this thread you are basically doomed.

Having got that out of the way, as a hiring manager I will immediately discard anything that doesn’t specifically mention a position and some specific aspect about my company. So while I might keep a resume on hand if it seems interesting and targeted to our particular department, even if I’m not looking to fill a position at the moment, a generic one that obviously was sent to 99 other places at the same time will go right into my deleted items.

Good luck!

:eek:

But if later you saw that I applied for a specific opening, you wouldn’t hold the other resume against me, right?

The chances of this helping you approach zero.

In order to get hired, you need to make it obvious and clear how you can help that company. They are not going to hang around waiting to see where you fit in. They want to be able to glance at your resume and cover letter and immediately know how you will make their organization better.

Looking for a job sucks, but remember you only have to get lucky one time. Instead of broadening your job search, focus it. Do a bit or research on each position so that you can make a convincing argument that you personally will be an asset to them.