Sharing a hotel room on a business trip

I’m taking a business trip next week, and a couple of new guys from the office are going with me - both of them asked if they had to share a room.

At my company we don’t share rooms, and I’m not sure I would want to go on any trips if it was required to share a room. I like my coworkers well enough, but not so much that I want to see them in their pajamas, or hear them snore, or subject them to my grumpy self first thing in the morning…

So how about where you work? Is it normal to share a room on a business trip (barring an emergency or room shortage)?

Absolutely NOT. I’ve been doing travel at this company for going on ten years, and never ever had to double up anyone in a room.

The whole idea of it makes me go :eek:

No, not really.

the only time I do is when I’m travelling to E3 with my partner. Then we don’t sleep in the first place so our room is really an operations center.

GRUMBLES
I hate sharing hotel rooms. And it really irks me that I have to. Now, if it was across the board, I’d grin and bear it. We’re a nfp so we have to save money.

But the higher-ups don’t have to share! Only us peons. Talk about a fucking double-standard.
Obviously I feel strongly on this issue. :slight_smile:

I had to when I went to a class out of town. They made us bunk four to an apartment, and we had two girls to a room. It kinda sucked.

So…my brother in law went down to N.O. to help with the Katrina aftermath. They made them share rooms. His solution (and I swear this is true) was to pitch a tent on the floor of his hotel room. A little hotel within a hotel. I’m still laughing every time I conjur up a visual on this.

Never in a million years. If they asked me to, I just wouldn’t go.