Should I be concerned about my low heart rate?

A few months ago during my annual medical checkup, my provider thought that my heart rate seemed a little low. My watch records that my resting heart rate hovers in the low 50’s. She sent me to a cardiologist who put me on a heart monitor for a month. They also did an EKG and an echocardiogram. None of the tests showed any cause for alarm. Since that time, I’ve started exercising regularly. I typically ride my stationary bike for an hour and a half a day and golf 3-4 times per week but I am FAR from being an athlete. I’m male, 6’1”, 240 pounds and am on a blood pressure medicine.

Since I’ve started exercising, my heart rate has gotten lower and lower. Today’s resting heart rate is 43. I took a nap after work and when I looked at my watch, I had a low heart rate alarm. It said that my heart rate got down to 38. It doesn’t tell how long it stayed there.

Should I be concerned about this? Do I need a second opinion?

I am not a doctor, I am not your doctor, yada yada yada. You say you are on blood pressure medicine. Is your BP too high or too low? You suffer from Bradycardia. Here’s a nice article on it.

If it were me, I would get a second opinion to see if this is an issue that needs further attention. My guess is it doesn’t, but you need to get peace of mind and a second opinion will help with that.

Too high.Your link mentions sleep apnea, which I also have but I use my CPAP religiously and it reports that my apnea is under control. :man_shrugging:

This article talks about bradycardia plus high BP, so it does happen, but it’s out of my league. Hopefully a medical-type person will chime in with their experience/understanding of such things.

Thank you for the links. I appreciate it.

You’re on a beta-blocker and/or a calcium-channel blocker I’m betting.
Last time I was in the hospital the EKG keep pinging because my HR dropped below 50, they cut my Carvedilol, a beta-blocker.