Small Batch Bourbon Taste Test!

I found a good deal online for Booker’s and Baker’s bourbon last week and they arrived today. Both are 7 years old. The Baker’s is 107 proof, the Booker’s comes in at a whopping 127.9. I’ll be tasting both shortly and I’ll be back with my findings…

Both are Beam brands, by the way, and although the bottles are very similar in shape and size, and identical in volume, the Booker’s seems significantly heavier for some reason.

Made with heavy water!

I greatly prefer the Booker’s over the Baker’s, myself. Be sure to try them both straight and with a splash of water. The splash seems to really open up the nose.

I should mention, if it isn’t obvious, that I have never tried either before. I am a bourbon drinker, but these fellows are usually a bit out of my price range. My usual bourbons are Jim Beam Black, Elijah Craig 12 year, Knob Creek, Makers Mark. I have sampled many others, but this will be my virgin voyage for these two.

I tried the Baker’s first, with a wee bit of cold, filtered water to wake the bastard up!

Baker’s: Batch B-90-001. Great, deep aroma. Definitely a sharp alcohol taste up front, but fairly smooth after that. I was definitely enjoying it and wished I had poured a more substantial taste. That’s a good sign. Well-made for sure, but not something that made me go “Holy Crap” (like the Pappy 23 year old I’ve mentioned previously.) Still, all in all, a very nice drink and I look forward to the rest of the bottle.

I hope that I am not hijacking (if so ignore me) but I am typically a beer drinker, and only drink hard liquor once in a blue moon, usually rum or whisky mixed with Coke, ginger ale or 7-Up.

Since I pretty much only drink with these type mixers, I usually get whatever low-end brand is on sale, like Jim Beam, Early Times, Lord Calvert, Black Velvet etc. (I know those last two are Canadian Whisky, not bourbon) and am usually happy with those for my undemanding palate.