Smokers: Any Regrets?

I was endeavoring to convince my brother-in-law that it was a good idea to give up smoking while he was still young (early 20’s) and hadn’t been smoking for too long. And my main selling point was that after all the arguments are said and done, I have never met a smoker above the age of 25 who did not regret that he had started the habit, and did not wish he could stop. So stop now, before it gets harder.

But that’s just my own experience. So my question goes out to all the long-time smokers out there. Do you regret that you ever started? Wish that you could stop? Or are there people who think it is worth it and a good idea?

Been smoking for five years now, and I do enjoy it.

But if I could stop without any hassle (like nail-biting, weight-gaining, ballistic-going etc.), I would - if only for financial reasons.

I’ve been smoking for about 9 years. No regrets so far.

I regret the addiction. I quit for three months and the desire never released its’ hold on me. While I really enjoy smoking sometimes, usually it’s just habit and chemical dependency. I have pretty balanced self-destructive/healthy yin-yang, but I wish I could effortlessly bike 20 miles, or play soccer all afternoon, and smoking makes these activities less enjoyable. A cigarette with a cup of coffee in the morning is sublime, and smoking while drinking and playing pool is de rigeur, and part of me still loves pissing off self-righteous wheatgrass drinking types, but I wish I could limit my smoking to just these occasions.

I regret it. I hate the fact that I’m short of breath after exertion (my stamina’s fine, but I can’t do sprints of any kind). It costs me a fortune and does me no good at all. I hate the fact that the addiction is stronger than hunger.

I love it and promised myself al long time ago that I’ll quit either by 40 or when I start hacking up phlegm in the morning … whichever comes 1st.