So, I started Atkins this week...

Why? Well, I’m 5’5" and weigh 191 lbs (female). The previous times I’ve wanted to lose weight ended up with me simply not eating at all (I’ve mentioned it in previous threads, it wasn’t fun). I figure I’ll give the two week run a try and see how things are at that point.

I started Tuesday. My first mistake was starting the day before I began my period. :rolleyes: Any quick weight loss is gonna be negated by the damn bloated feeling I get around this time (so I’m wondering if I should wait longer than 2 weeks for my trial run or not).

I don’t have any cravings, per se. I’m not frothing at the mouth for bread or potatoes, although they do sound good. The problem is that there’s hardly anything around that I can eat!

To clarify: I’m a college student, and I’m at school (i.e. away from my/any kitchen) from 11.00 am - 7.30 pm four days a week. Anything from vending machines is loaded with carbs, almost everything in the cafeteria is loaded with carbs. Basically, if I want something low carb, I have to make it myself, and I really don’t have a lot of time for that. Also, as a college student, I have quite limited funds, and I can’t afford to buy ready-made low carb stuff that often.

And call me shallow, but I don’t want to bring just hunks of meat and cheese (yes and veggies too) and have people staring at what I’m eating, especially since I usually eat where my friends and I work (tutoring centre), and I really don’t think they’re all for the Atkins diet.

Although I checked my weight and I’ve lost 2 lbs since Tuesday, and that’s even when I’m on my period, so that was kind of neat. I also do feel a bit more energy than I used to and I feel alert more quickly after I get up than I used to. :slight_smile: