Socks Made in the USA

I buy socks online from a place that actually makes them in North Carolina.

I don’t understand how they stay in business when they have to compete with China, but they are the BEST socks ever!

I get their Heavy Cushion Boot/Work socks.You wouldn’t believe how thick they are!

I’m a contractor on my feet in my boots 8 hours 5 days a week. I’ve used the same dozen for two years! They are only $12.95 a dozen. Is this a lot more than thin Chinese socks? I really don’t know. I hate going shopping in a store.

I don’t have anything to do with this place financially. I’m in California a long way from N.C…

Would you buy socks from an American manufacturer for a few dollars more?

I don’t really give two shits where something is made, but if it’s a vastly superior product, I would pay a few bucks more for it.

Give 'em a try.

I do care where things are made, and make an effort to buy stuff that is less likely to be sweat shop made. Tell me more about these socks.

Edit: Cabela’s?

SmartWool makes some of their socks in the U.S., but not all. Doesn’t matter. There does not exist a better sock.

It is, in my experience, about the same as the very cheapest socks you can get from a Chine sweatshop. (Actually socks seem to come more from Vietnam and Costa Rica rather than China.)

But yeah, the common perception is that we simply have to shut down American factories because it’s cheaper to make stuff in third-world sweatshops. The irrational losers who insist on buying American will pay more and get inferior products, according to this reasoning. The reality is that American-made clothes are often cheaper and always better, as far as I can tell. And while we’re on the topic, I’ll give a shout-out to the San Antonio Shoe Company, which provides excellent American-made dress shoes at great prices.

Good to know, thanks for the link. I care. To trade links with you, Diamond Gussett makes jeans in Tennessee: http://www.gussetclothing.com/