Stuck in Grand Rapids, MI

I’m doing a summer internship in Grand Rapids, Michigan. While this seems to be a lovely place to raise a family and go to church a lot, it’s not my bag, at least so far. For example…

1. While I consider myself Christian, this place is a little too Christian. The Reformed Christian Church (or Christian Reform Church, whatever) just permeates everything.

2. My workplace has no one else in my age bracket. I’m 22, single and have no kids. No one else I work with is remotely close to fitting into this demographic.

3. Hi Opal!

4. I’ve lived in Detroit, a college town, and Washington D.C. Living in conservative (in more ways than one) West Michigan is a big culture shock for me.

5. I live in a house that’s been converted into several apartments. While I’m a career-oriented college grad, the people who live here still behave like it’s a dorm. This means dropping by unannounced and then sticking around in my apartment, even though I didn’t ask them to and have no desire for them to do so.

The scary thing is, I may be here much longer than the summer. Of course, that would eliminate item #5 as a concern, since I’d be making a LOT more money, but the others would still remain.

My nearest friends are 2 hours away in several directions, so I find myself stuck here with nothing to do quite often.

Does anyone from around here have any ideas on what to do? I’ve never been in a situation where I didn’t already have friends or have friends thrust upon me (no jokes ;)). So here I sit, alone. If anyone knows how I can rescue myself from these social doldrums, please let me know!!

GR is big enough to have plenty of different subcultures; while the Christian Reformed Church is a visible local phenomenon, IIRC, less than 25% of the population belongs. You may just be suffering the new person in town all alone blues which you could get anywhere.