Teachers wearing t-shirts supporting political candidates

I personally try to refrain from discussions of politics in school. Most 7th graders are not interested in that kind of thing anyway, so it doesn’t come up a lot. Sometimes they ask me who I’m voting for, and I tell them they can probably figure it out from what they know of me, they guess right and the convo is over. However, one of my co-workers wore an Obama shirt to school recently, and that got me wondering. Do you think it’s OK for teachers to wear t-shirts or display other political propaganda? How much talk about politics is appropriate or OK in the classroom in your opinion?

I’ve thought about this as well. I’m a teacher of sixth graders in Canada. Often I want to voice by leftist tendencies but I refrain from it. I think kids at that age largely aren’t concerned with such matters, and only would be if it were brought up as a formal class topic. I don’t like to wear such clothing that promotes debateable ideas.

If talk in the classroom is well balanced, then I think talking about politics in school is great. I think the teacher's role should be as a moderator though. I would never try to voice my opinion, rather I would try to guide a students questioning process so they lead themselves to their own answers.

I think it is VERY important to speak about politics in schools due to poor voter turnouts, and the widespread disease of uninformed voters.  Perhaps in the older grades though.  

My seventh grader is interested in politics- she reads the news and watched the whole debate, but she may not be typical. She likes Obama.

I would not recommend wearing an Obama or McCain t-shirt to school (niether teachers or students, but especially teachers) mainly because of the 'lefty liberal media/school" charges you hear so much about these days.

What Quasimodal said.

Teachers aren’t there to shill for their political favorites. They’re there to teach.