Teenage Sex in Northern Europe vs North America

I started writing a response to this thread, and realized I had my own questions/musings on the issue.

Mods, feel free to move it if this is the wrong forum.

This is really really confusing me. I grew up in Germany and Denmark, and we had once-yearly segments on sexuality (menstruation, wet dreams and the like) and sexual protection (the different forms of birth control, etc etc). Both the school I transferred out of in ninth grade and the school I graduated from had graduating classes between 100 to 200 students. Not one of my fellow students ever got pregnant. Furthermore, I’ve never known anyone at either of those schools over the past decade that got pregnant.

It would have been laughable. We (well, most of us) screwed like bunnies (especially at the boarding school in Denmark - our own rooms!), but it was taken for granted that your were going to use protection, because that was what had been drilled into us. You used condoms, or the pill - but the latter only after both partners got tested for STI’s by the school nurse. If the condom broke (or if you had unprotected sex, but this was not cool in the extreme), you trundled off to the infirmary to get the morning-after pill. The nurse proscribed both the 72hr- and the regular pill (and you could choose to pay cash or have it put on your school bill, depending on whether your parents were comfortable/knew of your activities), and was always on hand for questions. Condoms were bought at the gas station down the street or at the super-market in town.