Terms/phrases you hear all the time, but don't *really* know what they mean.

Do you have those?

They could be words (like “magnanimous”, for example–I know how to spell it, and even know that the quality of being magnanimous is “magnanimity”, and have some idea of what it means, but couldn’t define it outright if you paid me to), famous adages (like “Never look a gift horse in the mouth”–I mean I get the gist (“Don’t be an ungrateful bastard”), but what the heck does it mean to look a gift horse in the mouth, and what is a gift horse, anyway?), or, like today, when someone said to me, “You are so conceptual!

I took it as a compliment, of course, but what does that mean, really? To be conceptual? I kind of get it, but conceptuality just seems like a weird state.

Hi, I’m auntie em; I’m happily married, I’m an editor, I love new shoes, I’m kind of an Insta-Princess ™, and I am very conceptual. :wink:

on the gift horse thing,

apparently you can discern some things about a horses health from checking out it’s teeth. It would be rude however to do this to a horse that was a gift. Bit like criticizing the brand of coffee maker someone gave you as a wedding gift :slight_smile:

“It’s all good.”

Tell me more of this Insta-Princess concept, Oh, Conceptual One. If it involves wearing a tiara, I’m all over that.

Specific intensity. I thought I knew what it meant. I realized on Friday that it doesn’t mean what I think it means, and I’ve been scrambling since then to try to figure it out. I hope that I’m just making it harder than it really is; the alternative is too horrible to contemplate.

I’m also a bit confused about the phrase “Aw, snap!” but that is less relevant to my PhD thesis. I’m told it means something along the lines of the idiomatic “Oh no you didn’t!” but I often here it conveyed in tones that seem to contradict that meaning.

I also keep forgetting whether laconic means taciturn or indolent. (It’s the former, but I have to look it up every time.)