The Best Animation

To avoid hijacking this wonderful thread, I’ll just ask straight up.

What do see as the best examples of animation?

Try to separate animation from story and humor, I know it’s hard.
Also, if you like, add your qualifications for judging.
I’m an animator, with a degree and everything (just no job yet).
I have a large collection of animated movies. The pieces that come to mind initially are:
The woods sequence in Sleeping Beauty
Any chase/action sequence in Tarzan
Playing with the Woody’s Roundup toy collection in Toy Story 2
Mike and Sully in Monsters, Inc., in particular, Mike’s line “Why don’t you put it to sleep… While I think of a plan!”
Most of Goofy, especially How to Ski.

I’m sure I’ll think of more as they come up.

Honestly, we’ll set pure-CGI aside (though I’d probably vote Gollum in the LotR movies).

For pure animation quality, I’d say Production I.G., for their animation work on both of the following;

Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex (both seasons)
Near-human (though idealised) proportions, realistic mechanical design, excellent fire, smoke, and other environmental effects. Great use of lighting and cell-shading to suggest realism (even cell-shaded CGI). Across the board this show does a great job of realism for a cartoon, especially for anime, known as it is for emphasising style over realism. But still images don’t do this show justice. The greatest thing about the animation is seeing it in motion, it all moves so smoothly and with such an authentic look it’s amazing.
The storyboard artists also have a great flair for the dramatic, using very striking visuals, in addition to slipping in a lot of subtle details and symbolism. The representation of the various “cloaking abilities” shown, as well as the virtual environments the characters use to browse the internet with are very striking and creative as well.

FLCL