the perfect food -- question for doctors

I’ve wondered for quite some time now if a perfect food is possible to manufacture. What I mean by this is a food that can be eaten with the body completely using every part of the food, resulting in no feces. Is this humanly possible? Keep in mind that I have no clue about how the digestive system works, but I think it would be really cool to be able to eat perfect food and never have to go take a poop again. I’m not applying this to urination because I’m pretty sure that it’s definately impossible to avoid, but solid waste I am not so sure. Please be kind and don’t think i’m too moronic :). So anyway, will I ever see the day when pooping is a thing of the past ?

I’m not a doctor (maybe I should not be answering in that case), but I think it’s true that you run an increased risk of problems like bowel cancer if things don’t keep movin’ through.

Oh, plus there’s the fact that poo isn’t just leftover bits of food; it’s dead bits of you (spent blood cells etc).

Well, I suppose a clear liquid vitamin supplement might do the trick, but good luck on getting rid of the intestinal lining and bacteria that make up about half of an average doody. You’ll poop a lot less, but you’ll still poop.

Might as well get a microbiologist’s point of view - feces is up to 1/3 dead bacteria, by dry weight.

Might as well get a microbiologist’s point of view - feces is up to 1/3 dead bacteria, by dry weight.

Crap (no pun intended) - I hope I caught that before it went through. I just reailzed that a lot of the bacteria is, of course, quite alive. Ah, well.