The Web Communities outside of SDMB are scary places

So long story short, I use a public computer every now and then and forgot to log off the other night. Somone decided to use my name to bid on the last item i looked at and won it. Now I dont want the item so I asked for help on an E-Bay message board, and low and behold I get reamed about the consequences of not paying. Im not a deadbeat bidder by any means, and to imply that Im a scam artist? Wow, even in the Pit most peple get the benifit of the doubt for a little while.
Next on Epinions, a community I use all too much and decided to give back to, I gave a little write up on the dangers of net breeder cubes in fishtanks on the only one the offered, and it was refused to be published because “I never stated that I had used the product.” Wow.
And alas I’m home now. and posting in the middle of the day so this is hopefully slightly coherent.
Anybody else have bad experiences in “the outside world”?

[bold]HERETIC[/bold] All know there is nothing outside the straight dope! All who post news of these supposed other “Internet sites” Are demons of ignorance, sent to tempt the faithfull away from the righteousness that is the straight dope!

Errrrr, and the bad coding was also sent by ignorance demons.

Shut up.

I found a site that’s about the area where we’ll be living next year, so I joined. But for the most part, it’s a huge flirting party. I started a thread to get some information, and it devolved into a steamy, suggestive orgiastic hijack. Not that there’s anything wrong with steamy, suggestive orgies, but I had a serious question. So I don’t go there any more.

I’m a huge Star Wars nut, but got reamed at my first post at TheForce.net. I haven’t gone back since.

I was reading a few messages on the IMDB boards, and I just couldn’t handle it. Everything was: