They've suspended Don't Ask Don't Tell.

The San Francisco Chronical said today that DoD has suspended the gays in the military policy of Don’t Ask Don’t Tell in this time of war. It was done before the Gulf War in 1991 as well.

I’ve got nothing but respect for the military. My father, among numerous other relatives, is a Navy man, and those people who fight for their country are heroes not sung often enough.

I can’t help but think, though, that this shows the blatant hypocricy of those who instituted the policy- when is “the cohesion of a unit”- one of the biggest reasons for the policy- more important than during times of war? Yeesh.

I’m not sure I understand. So this means that gays now can join or they can’t? Sorry for not being up on current events.

Being retired military, and still working for the Air Force as a private contractor, I haven’t seen any official directive stating such. I think the latest Clinton standards still are in place.

Quite a few senior NCOs and officers like myself, in all services, have supported the careers of gay and lesbian servicemen that have worked for, or with us. Toward the last ten years, the trend has been not to waste precious investigative resources in the military on “gay witch hunts” and more of a focus on issues that really affect military readiness such as computer systems security.

I’ve known several gays and lesbians in my career in the Air Force. By and large, they kept quiet lives and did an outstanding job of serving their country. I was proud to serve with them and did the best I could to keep their private lives out of the official, public eye.