Tips for a first time CoC Keeper

I’m new to the Call of Cthulhu game, but have become borderline obsessed with it over the last couple weeks, and am going to be attempting to run a game later this weekend (the Haunting scenario from the handbook, if it matters). I was just wondering if any of you had any advice for me. My group and I all have experience with other rpgs, mostly DnD, and I think I have a pretty good grasp of the rules, but am still looking for any pointer’s on how to run the game, and have a smooth transition from hack and slash to a horror based game.

First, emphasis the mortality of the characters. I usually do this before the game starts for people to prevent slowing up the game too much but it’s important that they know that their characters will either die, go insane, something worse, or all of the above and not necessarily in the order they expect. If they’re willing to charge in swinging at something they can take out like a ghoul then they probably don’t have the concept down. The game play is about investigating and problem solving (and of course running in terror when you failed to do the first two correctly); players need to know that going in or everyone is going to have a miserable time.

Second, don’t let people power game. This is especially important for The Haunting because it’s a simple scenario. One or two players could easily dominate the scenario. With beginning players I typically make them use their first character as whatever is rolled up straight by the rules and then justify their skills in the context of their job. With more experience you could just feed the power gamer to a demonic force from beyond time that invisibly crunches their bones in front of the other players as an example to what happens when they think they’re on top, but The Haunting doesn’t have a lot of room for that which is why you need to avoid it right from the start.