Toxic people and what to do about them?

I’m a consultant. I love what I do and I’m pretty good at it with enough years of IT experience that I no longer have to pad my resume. :slight_smile: I even like this particular project and most people with whom I work, clients and fellow colleagues. I’m sure everyone knows how rarely that sort of thing happens in a lifetime.

But there’s this one guy. Yeah. You know him. A guy who is in a position of authority and whom you can’t avoid. The guy who brings nothing of value to the effort. The guy who talks endlessly about things he doesn’t understand, lacking in any self awareness of how completely absurd the things he says are, how they are often inappropriate for the context, how they serve to do the exact opposite of whatever the objective he is trying to achieve. He badgers, harangues, insults, and generally ruins any and every meeting he inserts himself into. He shamelessly ass kisses any superior who happens to be on the call. So much so that he’s been told, “Stop mentioning my name”, just to put a stop to the fawning and toadying. He lectures contract staff with years of knowledge and experience that he’ll never have, about things he’ll never understand. And when the meeting is over, he’ll call you directly and ask you, “Did you hear what I said during that meeting? Let me explain and repeat to you again what I said and why!” And then he does. Like you’re the idiot upon whom he’s bestowing his wisdom.

In the two years that I’ve worked with this jackass, he has brought absolutely nothing of value to any aspect of the project. He’s only made things worse. He has never done a days work. He is the Dunning-Krugger Effect incarnate.

As luck would have it. He is finally on very thin ice with his senior manager, two levels up. All it would take is for someone to walk into that senior director’s office and fill in some color to what is an already pretty stark picture of incompetence.