Tropical Storm Isaac and traveling to Turks and Caicos

So we’re due to go to Turks and Caicos on Thursday for a few days R&R. Flying via Miami for the weekend. Unfortunately, it looks like there’s a tropical storm down in deep Caribbean. Are we crazy to travel?

I have no experience with tropical storms but even it misses Turks it may land on Miami and air travel will be shut down. Any advice from fellow Dopers who have experience with traveling and these sorts of storms?

Thanks!

There is almost no chance that the Turks and Caicos will be affected. Maybe a little (like 15 mph) wind and some bigger than normal seas. It is passing south of Hispaniola, quite a bit south.

Returning is a possible factor, depending on which day it is. The current track is west of Miami, with it passing by Monday evening. It isn’t going to be very strong as it will have just passed over Cuba. It will strengthen if it moves into the Gulf, but then it wouldn’t affect Miami.

If you’re connecting in Miami you can probably get rerouted through Atlanta or points north depending on your final destination.

Thanks Lamar. Getting stuck in Miami worries me but this makes me a little more comfortable.

I think you’re likely to be safe, Lochdale, but I’d hesitate to use language as strong as what Lamar Mundane used. I’ve seen too many storms change too unpredictably for that.

Right now, the weather patterns seem fairly strong for keeping the storm south of Hispanola. The NHC is predicting it to be just south of there around Thursday. All the reliable computer models agree, which is rare this early in a storm. That’s a good sign for you.

Hurricane Hunters were in the storm today, and the next set of model runs should have better data for initialization. We should have a clearer short-term picture tomorrow.

If you’re concerned, you could ask the place you are staying what their tropical storm plan is.

-D/a

Good points Digital. The real fear is being stuck there or In Miami.