TV coaxial jack not working right

Everytime I try to hook up the cable or vcr to the coaxial jack on this tv the picture has a lot of “snow” in it. The dvd is hooked up to the red/white/yellow (rca jacks??) and works perfect.

Facts: 31 inch Sanyo (bought it at walmart a couple of years ago, but it suits (or did) my needs.) It’s nothing special, but it used to always work great. Has stereo and connections for my dvd/surround system and wide-screen movies look great on it.

I paid $400-500 I think.

How hard will it be for me to try and replace that jack? Would something like that cost very much at a typical repair center?

Dish network is coming by this week to install a dish. Do those boxes have s-video or rca connections that will help me bypass using the coaxial input? If so, then I guess this thread is moot.

Anyone?

I’m no TV techie, but it sounds more like the tuner in the TV is having a problem, not the jack. If it was just a question of a loose connection at the coax jack, jiggling it or squeezing it would probably produce some change in the snow. Try it, and see if it makes any difference.

The red/white/yellow connections, in effect, bypass the tuner, and feed the tube more directly. What happens with rabbit ears (assuming you’re close enough to at least one broadcast station to get a decent signal)?

If the tuner is the problem, it would almost certainly cost more to repair than the TV is worth, or, for that matter, than a new, similar TV.

1. Are you sure your TV is set to the correct channel for the output of the VCR / Cable box you are attaching? If your VCR output is on Ch 3 and your set is tuned to Ch 2 or 4, you would see the symptoms you are describing.

2. The Dish Network receiver should have both S-Video and RCA connections.

If the jack is soldered onto the pcb there is a chance the solder broke, just heat it up again if so. Also don’t coil the cords, straight runs are best. Last make sure you are using the correct tuner channel, 3 or 4.