U.S. Expatriates! I want to join your ranks! Where do I start?

Ever since I was a teenager, I’ve made it a goal to move overseas. I want to speak a different language, eat different food, and take in a different culture. The U.S. is also falling apart and I want out.

I promised myself I would get my Bachelor’s degree first. I’m about a year-and-a-half away from graduation, so I know I need to start getting a jump on things.

I’ve narrowed my choices down to France, Sweden, Germany, Norway, Australia, and New Zealand. France is particularly interesting because I already read and write decent French and it’s where I always imagined I’d be moving. Sweden and Germany are scientific leaders (which my degree is in), and Norway has a very common sense but liberal culture. Australia and New Zealand are on my list because of the the warm climate.

Turkey and Greece would be on my list, but their economies are too unstable right now. Other countries, such as England, wouldn’t be unheard of, but I’d need a very tantalizing reason to pick it (such as a very good job). I’ve already visited England, France, Turkey, and Greece.

So where do I start? How do I pick a country without knowing where I’ll be getting a job? Once I decide, I’m going to open a bank account in that country and start stockpiling cash there.

I’ve established a list of questions I need to research the answers on.
[ul]