Versus Alcohol

Not sure if this is the right place to make this post, but I’m not a member of any other message board, so I thought to just give it a try.

I’ve been battling alcoholism for almost ten years. You must know at least one person in your life with the same story, because it’s very common. I have never managed to quit alcohol for any number of days except when there was a substitute, such as prescription drugs (pain killers, tranquilizers or sedatives) in order to put myself to sleep.

I am an extremely functioning alcoholic, and this made it harder for me to rationalize myself out of it. I never had black-outs or woke up not knowing where I was. Never lost a job because of my drinking habits, and never laid my hand on anyone because of alcohol (or any other reason). Not married, no children, and no bar fights either. I drank at least ten double shots of sic whiskey every night for many years. I’ve been on and off AA, and I claim that I have made my recent decision to stop away from the fellowship.

I found that what triggered my drinking were two things: wanting to sleep with someone (I’d have a few drinks at home then go out to a bar, hopeful for an encounter, and food; I love big dinners). Basically, appetite for sex and food. First two days I quit, I just arrived home from work, took care of the libido, and had a sandwich. Once this was taken care of, I didn’t feel like drinking.

Today is the seventh day that I’m clean and serene. I’ve just spent the weekend at home and managed to dodge any invitations to go out. It’s evening right now where I live, and if I manage to go to bed without a drink, tomorrow will be the eighth day. I’ve thrown away every last drop of alcohol I had in the house. I’m writing this because it’s a mundane pointless thing I must share.

Best wishes to you on continuing an alcohol-free life. It’s neither mundane, nor pointless, though. :slight_smile: