Vrai ou no?

So I’m doing a research project on perceptions of Cajun French and issues with linguistic insecurity in Louisiana for a linguistics class, and I’m curious. For those of you with some kind of background experience in French, or even for those of you who don’t but are interested in responding, do you see Cajun French as a “corrupted” version of French, or do you see it as a language in its own right?

(This isn’t for any kind of research and won’t be cited in the paper. I’m just curious to see what other Francophones out there think about this.)

I have no real background in linguistics, although I considered teaching French and Spanish once upon a time. I never considered Cajun French to be a language - I thought it was more of a mish-mashof languages - mainly because what little of it I’ve heard seems randomly incomprehensible.

Then again, I couldn’t give you a good definition of what constitutes a language either.

I’d take it as its own language, as I am French and can’t understand a word of it! A French person will catch maybe one word or two out of a sentence, but that’s pretty much it!

From a University of Louisiana at Lafayette page:

That agrees with my experience that there are in fact several tongues on the loose in South Louisiana.

Just as a link of general interest to this thread, here’s a link to a story from NPR about towns that have used parts of the WTC in memorials… there’s one in Lafayette, LA with an inscription in some variety of Louisiana French (term used to denote one of the varieties of French, without specifying which of the three [listed in Ringo’s above post] it is). Give it a listen and see if you can hear the differences between that French and Standard French.

FairyChatMom: Don’t feel bad, it took all 13 of us in the class 2 days to come up with a definition of what a language is. Simple answer: a system of communication.