In yesterday’s Yankees-Cleveland game, There was a a Yankee on second and the batter hit a swinging bunt that dribbled about 2.5 feet in front of the plate.
The catcher fielded it smoothly and chose to try to get the runner at third. So he threw there, but too late. And the batter reached first.
My buddy insisted the batter is credited with a hit. I say it was a Fielder’s Choice. NOT a hit.
In this case the catcher could have gotten the batter/runner at first easily. The only way the guy could make it to first would have been if the catcher threw wildly, or the 1st baseman dropped the throw.
So the batter can’t be credited with a hit, no matter what happened at third.
Further information from rule 10.05: (a) The official scorer shall credit a batter with a base hit when:…
(6) a fielder unsuccessfully attempts to put out a preceding runner and, in the official scorer’s judgment, the batter-runner would not have been put out at first base by ordinary effort.
Rule 10.05(a) Comment: In applying Rule 10.05(a), the official scorer shall always give the batter the benefit of the doubt. A safe course for the official scorer to follow is to score a hit when exceptionally good fielding of a ball fails to result in a putout.
So, it really depends on whether the official scorer thinks the runner would have made it to first anyway. It’s a judgment call.
I believe you are talking about Melky Cabrera’s dribbler in the 3rd. It was called a Fielder’s Choice as it should be.
New York - Bottom of 3rd Score
Jake Westbrook pitching for Cleveland CLE NYY
H Matsui reached on infield single to second.
R Cano grounded out to first, H Matsui to second. (1st out)
M Cabrera grounded into fielder’s choice to catcher, H Matsui to third. (Please note: No Out)
J Damon singled to right, H Matsui scored, M Cabrera to second.
D Jeter grounded into double play, third to second to first, J Damon out at second.
(outs 2 & 3)