Watching Star Trek for the first time

I’ve been resisting this for the last 30 years, but the inevitable is the inevitable…I’ve never watched a complete episode of Star Trek (any series). I’ve seen a couple of the movies (the new one, the one with the whales and the one where they go to Russia) but had a hard time following them, and I’ve seen bits and pieces of episodes over the years.

I’ve purposely avoided the franchise mainly because of all the negativity that their fanbase gets. I’m a hardcore geek and I felt like I always had to have SOME kind of boundary, and something about Trekkies just seemed really OFF to me. And again, since I had a hard time following/enjoying the little bit that I’ve seen, it didn’t really motivate me to watch more.

On the other hard, I did really enjoy Firefly, BSG 2004, and Futurama (and I have a feeling that I’m missing about half the jokes on the latter due to me not seeing 99.9% of Star Trek content).

Anyway, my first question is - where do I start?

After doing a little bit of research, I see that the William Shatner generation starts with 3 seasons of the Original Series, then the animated series, and then the movies, which was also the chronological order they were released.

There’s also the Enterprise series, which takes place before the Shatner series, but I also understand that this is similar to the Star Wars prequels where you’ll miss half of the storyline if you haven’t seen the “later” stuff yet.

It gets even further complicated with the other TV series, since some of them overlap both in the timeline in the franchise, and when they aired…but I’ll get to that if and when it comes to it.