WebTv

First, I found that many of you computer types look down upon us WebTv users. I can understand as I was a radio amateur when the FCC took away our 2 meter band & gave it to CBers who need not even be tested.
But, I’d like to know how the infer-red(sp?) keyboard that I am typing on from my recliner 12 ft the “black box” atop my TV works. It has 97 keys, 47 of which are upper & lower case. Does it have 144 differant IR codes none of which has any effect on my 2 VCR’s nor my TV? It appears that a lot of thought went into the keyboard alone, not to mention the rest of the system. Microsoft now owns WebTv, but, I heard that they were not the original developers. Anybody know the Straight Dope?

Zymurgist

Carl- Don’t know about the keyboard, but I do know it’s ‘infrared’.

Every little bit counts.

Thanks for the spelling lesson! Do I have to stay after class?

You could always assume that the keyboard only uses two pulses ( one for 0 and one for 1) and transmits the ASCII or UNICODE value of the character pressed.

I would agree with Headless Cow’s answer, with the exception that it might use special guard signals, to mark the start of a character pulse, or something.

But, it definately would transfer the data digitally instead of having a code for each character.

Likely it uses scan codes, which are just keyboard-ascii, basically. Numbers which represent the keys, but with codes for non-printable characters (F# keys, arrows, etc) and based on layout, where the number pad keys have a different code than the number row keys.

Or, if it’s a special WebTV keyboard which isn’t just a modified standard IR keyboard, they might have made up their own scan codes based on the specific wiring scheme used.