"Welcome to the World of Tomorrow" - Party for my book!

I started writing a book about my family a few months after my brother was diagnosed with his brain tumor in late 2006. Last night I held the first public reading for him, our mother and a couple of friends. I spent about eight or ten months writing, with the most intense period covering December and January of this year, and spent the remaining time since then making a few separate editing passes, identifying potential agents, decompressing and then having my girlfriend read and review it. My brother also contributed several chapters, which I was glad he agreed to do, and got better as he kept doing it. He showed some real insight, too.

I believe this thing is ready to share with other people now. I’ll start writing and emailing agents and publishers soon, and I saw last night as the official kickoff. I’d sent little bits of the book to friends, but never this much. I write for a living anyway, but this is the first book I’ve finished and unlike most of the other stuff I’ve written, this was done how I wanted it, not for an employer. It’s been wonderful and I wanted to share that.

Congratulations on finishing. wishing you luck as you move forward.

When I was young and naive I wrote a book with no clue how to write, no clue how to find an agent or publisher.

It was crap, but it got me into the computer field and I now make a good living at it, so it was time well spent.

I’ve definitely got plans for others - hell, it’s starting to look like I need to start writing a continuation of my family’s story, even if I’m not sure how I feel about that. That’s part of what makes this one so encouraging. I know I can make myself buckle down and do it. Over the winter, I had a goal of 3,500 words a week for about two months ,and that became the majority of the book.

Congrats, Marley, for finishing up the book, especially one inspired by your brother’s illness. Care to share a particularly nice part?