Well, so much for THAT job.

Well, as was predicted by someone (I forget who) in a lost thread in which I ranted against the moron editor who didn’t believe that marketing would do anything for his pub, his pub tanked. And I just took the fall for it.

Ugh.

Unemployed. This sucks.

I’ve sort of seen it coming. The board cut off marketing about 6 weeks ago and my publisher has been ignoring me for the last three weeks. I’m a pretty veteran corporate warrior. I recognized the signs.

But I’m still pissed off. I was given an impossible task: get 10,000 people to pay $139 for a magazine when there were already 5 in the market that were completely free. When I couldn’t pull that off…bang, out I went.

My publisher now insists that she’ll be running all the marketing for the magazines and newsletters. I wish her luck. She’s a nice person but it’s clear to me that she doesn’t understand marketing. Her background is in libraries and she’d much rather edit material than discuss sales figures and such. I think she’ll fail.

So I suppose I’m a little bitter to be taking the fall for other people’s mistakes. But that is corporate life.

On the up side…

I saw this coming. As I said, I’m not blind. I’m in the running for the position of publisher at a corporation you would recognize and be impressed with, also for the position of Group Circulation Director at a start up publishing house, and Marketing Director for the largest magazine consulting firm in the city.

And thank God we closed on the home equity line of credit this morning. When I had to sign the affadavit that, “There has been no change in employment that would harm our ability to repay the loan” I was able to honestly say, “Yes”. I don’t want to use debt to keep us afloat, but it’s nice to know it’s there, just in case.

They cashed me out with three weeks pay and my vacation. It’s equivalent to a little more than 2 months mortgage payments. We’ll get by.