What about Macintosh computers hasn't changed in the last 25 years?

Are there any significant architectural (OS API or hardware architecture) similarities between the Apple Macintosh of 1984 and the Unix running Intel Macs of today?

Being a Windows developer, I know that there exists a clear history from 1981 to the present regarding “PC” hardware and the MS-DOS/Windows history, and that there is theoretical backward compatibility between Windows XP and the earliest MS-DOS version, and that the hardware interfaces, while much different, still are based around the same architecture and one could theoretically build a modern PC that had an ISA bus and took expansion cards from 1985 if you had enough resources.

In contrast, the Mac has undergone several drastic reforms, including two processor family switches and the switch to Unix.

Well, the snotty attitude on the part of the users is pretty much unchanged.

(I’m a Mac user, by the way)

Some of the original Mac API lives on in what Apple calls “Carbon” – a compatbility library that’s there to ease the porting of classic-style applications to MacOS X. It’s not used much for developing new applications.

Also, Carbon is lacking some “critical” routines that were in the original API (e.g. “InitWindows”), which in general means you can’t just take the source code of an old app and re-compile it, unchanged, for MacOS X. You’d have to do at least a little bit of re-writing.

Exactly. All the hardware standards I can think of have been replaced over the years: SCSI, ADB, NuBus …

Single Button Mouse.

You’re sort of onto something there. The mice that Apple sell tend to be single-button.

However, the original Mac had no support for multi-button mice, either in hardware or in the API. In contrast, MacOS X understands that you could have a multi-button mouse, and supports it both in hardware and in the API.