What are you doing for Lent this year?

It’s Ash Wednesday, so I’m starting my semi-traditional Lent thread. What are you doing/giving up this year? I’m pregnant and due before Easter, so I think I’ll take up daily Rosary and leave it at that. I might be able to still do it post-birth, with a newborn.

And for everyone who’s itching to say, “I gave up being Christian/Catholic/deluded theist for Lent!”, please refrain. Thank you.

I’m giving up television. Ever since I completed my Masters degree, I just seem to go home from work and sit around watching tv until I go to bed at night. I’m going to give up tv as I feel it’s the catalyst for me staying up too late --> not getting to bed early enough --> getting into work late, repeat as necessary.

I am once again giving up drinking alcohol.

Coffee. It’s going to be painful. (Not all caffeine and I’ll still feed my addiction with tea - I don’t want to go through withdrawal and all - but I love coffee.)

This will be my first time to give something up for Lent, so I’m going to try chocolate. I eat that stuff like it’s going out of style, so it should be moderately difficult, but not impossible.

Even though I seem to have rushed right past C&E Catholic straight into lapsed… This year I’m working on doing something life-affirming every day. Since the first of the year, I’ve lost a lot of motivation, and I need some encouragment to remember that God loves me, I should love me, I have worth, and, damnit, someday I WILL get a new job! :slight_smile:

Me too. I have done this for the past few years.

I’m not giving up anything.

I’m working on getting into some better habits: tracking what I eat, and getting back on the running program I started at New Years and took a week off of for major busy-ness.

It was difficult, but I decided I should give up Lent.

After just over 12 hours, the sacrifice seems bearable.