What are you doing for Lent?

It’s only a few days to Lent again. This year I’m giving up the internet, aside from email, and doing morning and evening psalms. I’m also going to haul myself to noon Mass and rosary as often as possible, and pray the whole rosary on Ash Wdnesday. I’ve never done it before. I’ll be hoarse. I’ll have oodles of free time without three hours on the Dope every day.
This is a really exciting Lent for us, because we’ll be joining the Catholic Church at Easter Vigil, and we’re trying to prepare. I’m also offering up my suffering as a result of Mr. Lissar giving up caffeine. :wink:

Traditionally, a lot of people come in to say something clever, like, “I gave up Christianity for Lent!”, or “I gave up Lent for Lent!”. Please don’t. We’ve heard it before, and I’d like this thread to be reserved for those who are actually doing Lent as part of their faith.
What are you doing for Lent this year?

I give up elephant hunting for Lent. I started giving up elephant hunting when I was in elementary school with a bunch of catholic friends who had to give up good stuff like candy. I found it much easier to give up elephant hunting because there just were not that many elephants in Flint, Michigan and that made it somewhat easier. I keep up this tradition because it just works for me.

I haven’t decided yet! I wanted to do daily mass, but I’ll probably be having the baby during Lent (I think I’m actually due on Easter), so I can’t commit to it. I think the daily rosary might be just the thing.

I like to “take on” a committment rather than “give up” something…seems more meaningful to me, personally.

I am so excited for you this year, LL! I hope you have a wonderful Easter experience! :slight_smile:

Every year I try to give up cussing and something else. The cussing is a verbal crutch I ought not to use as much as I do anyway, so it’s a form of self-denial and self-betterment. Anyway, that’s my @#$% story, and I’m sticking to it. :wink: