What are your thoughts on GoFundMe campaigns for medical costs?

Background that inspired the question: I am a recently retired educator with 28 years as a pubic school teacher. I spent 19 of those years in a single district in Texas. I left that district almost four years ago, but I still live in the town. I am long-time member of the community, both inside and outside the school.

A teacher colleague has recently been diagnosed with breast cancer. Her condition is apparently rather grave, though not completely hopeless. I do know this person and she knows me, though we are not what I would consider close. She is married and has three kids (14 y/o twins and a younger child). As a public school teacher, I assume she took at least the most minimal health insurance offered to educators in our state. It would have a high deductible, but would be 80/20 after that and then 100% after the max out-of-pocket. The other insurance levels available would have a lower deductible and max, but would also be 80/20 going to 100 after max.

Bottom line is that she has, or has had access to, reasonable health insurance. Her problem right now seems to be that she cannot work and will not be able to work for a while. She has gone through her sick leave (which may not have been huge since she has three children – she would have burned some sick time having kids and taking care of them when they’ve been sick). So, not attending work, she doesn’t get paid. The GoFundMe, as I understand it, is to help fill this gap.

I believe that our country does an incredibly poor job in supporting people who become sick or injured. I support candidates who push for increased access to healthcare and I believe that single-payer is the ultimate solution. That single-payer would be a government program like Medicare for All.

I also believe that having more suffering may be the only way to get our politicians’ attention to get this done. We must somehow get the tide to turn on this issue.