What are your thoughts on this Discworld ranking list?

I guess it’s a Buzzfeed link, but I’m in no way affiliated with that site and never visit it. I had been looking for a spreadsheet of all the Discworld book so I can track my reading of them. Got curious and read some of this list, which ranks them.

Here is the list, which calls itself “definitive” for some reason.

I’ve only read the following five books, so I am a total amateur. Here is my ranking of them so far:

1. Small Gods - in my top tier of best novels I’ve ever read.
  2. Guards! Guards! - very funny and amusing
  3. Mort - I disliked the final 20% or so, but loved the opening 80%. Missed the landing, in my opinion. Love Death, though.
  4. Colour of Magic - cute, nothing great.

Men at Arms(reading it now) - I’m only 33% through it. No evaluation yet. Love the talking dog, though. Gaspode. Makes me laugh.

Not a bad list. I think that Small Gods and Pyramids are much lower, and Carpe Jugulum much higher.

It’s total bullshit. Night Watch at #26? That alone proves my point. Soul Music at #23? Pyramids at #3?

Total rubbish. Even Harry King would turn up his nose at it.

Not a fan of the list at all. (I agree about Night Watch–it should be in the very low single digits). IMHO the most important and meaningful and rounded out characters in all of the Discworld series are Samuel Vimes and Esme Weatherwax, and would put their story arcs at the top of my list. (Tiffany Aching would go at number 3, and that arc isn’t even included.)

Mahaloth, something you are probably missing in having only read those five books is that the Discworld series (taken as a whole) is not only funny but deep and meaningful, to the extent that I’d say that if you want to teach a child to be a decent human being without religion, you could do much worse than have them closely study the characters and motives in the Discworld books (especially the Vimes, Weatherwax, and Aching arcs, as already mentioned.)