What car should I get to look and feel cool 'n' classy?

There are superficial, vain aspects to my personality of which I am not ashamed. I think such things are truly dangerous in a moderately well-adjusted person like ME only when they lie beneath the surface of conscious thought.

So here goes. I am a business consultant but currently not particularly flush. I need to ditch my creaky Olds (thanks, Dad) for a stylish ride. I need a car that will seem consultantly, pretigious, and cool. I want a car that drives well.

But not something bling-bling ostentatious. That ain’t my way. And I think spending $60k on a car is a waste; lots of other stuff to buy. And, as I said, I can’t afford it right now, either.

In fact, my budget is about $5k to $10k. I know where I can get a pretty nice, new-looking 1980s BMer in this range. Still, I want a car that’s a little different. I mean, a 1970s Citroen sedan in good condition would do it for me. You see what I’m getting at?

Criteria in sum:

1. $5 to $10k
  2. Classy (i.e., a 1979 Pontiac Firebird, however cool that might be, is not the vibe)
  3. Something different if possible
  4. Gives las chicas a case of acute panty moisture (hey, just kidding!)

Help me out, Dopers!

One thing to consider when buying a 5-10k car is the cost of repairs on it (if it is pre-owned). While that BMW might seem like a great buy, the cost of repairs could be over the cost and/or value of the car. This is basically the norm for any European car.

You could get a Japanese car for this price, but I am not sure it would be prestigious enough for you.

Would a good Hyundai suit you? You could get a new one for a little more, or a three year old higher model in that make for that price. And they have made great strides in their building of the automobile.

Yes, I have heard that Hyundai in just a few short years has achieved astouding quality, and I actually think their styling is pretty cool for a modern car.