What dining experience do you miss the most since the pandemic began?

I know a lot of states have relaxed dine-in restrictions in the last few months, including my own state of Michigan, so it’s possible to dine out again, but I and my wife haven’t been too keen on doing that again yet.

Fortunately I’m a pretty good cook, so we’ve still been eating well at home for the past 7-8 pandemic months.

And we’ve been getting take-out, but I’m only comfortable with ordering food that has been cooked. Which leads me to sushi…oh how I miss it. Sushi is one thing I never learned how to make from scratch, or had the inclination to. I think making sushi is like playing bass-- easy to be mediocre at, very difficult to master.

We’ve missed Holiday get togethers & BBQs the most. We’re basically going to pass on Thanksgiving, Christmas & New Years also.

Oh, jeez, where do I start? My favorite neighborhood fine-dining place has now closed for good, as have at least two of my favorite downtown restaurants. I miss going for steak and potatoes with my friends at a very comfortable, welcoming restaurant not far from the courthouse. And I miss sitting in the coffeeshop with another friend, a large mocha in hand, just shooting the breeze.

Exactly. Sitting at the sushi bar and talking to the chefs. Sometimes we get some tuna and wasabi and do something up ourselves, but it’s not the same by a long shot.

Two in particular:

• Getting together with friends at a local brunch restaurant – it was a big part of how I’d get to spend time with, and catch up with, certain friends
  • Going to the nice French bistro for a special-occasion meal – it’s where we’d often celebrate our anniversary, and my birthday

Sushi is pretty easy to make. Sushi isn’t easy to make pretty.

…Just have to have the proper ingredients, sushi grade fish, etc.