What happens if you eat Silica Gel?

You know those little packets that keep things dry in everything from pill bottles to computer parts. It says its a drying agent, so would it mess with your body fluid levels or what? Is it very dangerous, or would you just get a major case of cotton-mouth?

Thanks-
-Tcat

Well I have a very obscure reference to silica gel being ok to ingest in small quantities. There is some company selling kitty litter with silica in it to “absorb” odor. They say it is safe if accidentally ingested (I assume they mean by babies, or maybe cats that eat their own feces.

here is the page: http://www.justlitter.com/

I don’t know what the FDA approves for an accidentally ingested quantity… but I would have to say

If you must take Silica Gel, do it responsibly and in moderation. If you just can’t help yourself make sure you drink plenty of fluids and stay close to a phone with functional one and nine buttons.

I am sure you could get rich by selling silica capsules, just tell people that it absorbes a bad body compound that makes you weigh more. They don’t have to know that it is water. You may notice some side effects: dry mouth, dry stool, trouble urinating, sudden death.

Reminds me of one of this hair re-growth commercials. It’s all natural and drug-free. Then the describe it’s molecular mechanism (how can that be drug free). Example, it mops up the “bad body chemical” DHT. Just because it is implicated in natural alopecia does not mean that it doesn’t serve some important purpose and therefore blockade could lead to side effects. Drug free my arse.

It would be kind of cool if it turned you into a dessicated mummy. Well, not you specifically…

One site says why you shouldn’t eat it, while another site says not to worry to much about it if you do, though the Answer Geek at the second mentioned site dodges the question.