What has Bush done for the military (salaries and benefits)?

Military friends of mine are voting for Bush because of what his administration has done to help the individuals in the military as far as salaries and benefits go. This got me wondering–what specifically has the administration done, year by year? And how does it compare with how previous administrations, especially Clinton’s, treated the rank and file?

I think they’ve inhaled way too much desert sand…

Oops, sorry, I thought this was IMHO.

I’m a Veteran and use the VA Hospital facilities so your question interests me. I’m going to vote for Kerry because he might be a little bit better for Veteran services.
First time in my life I’ve voted Democratic! (I’m a senior citizen) :wink:

Trying to be as factual as possible, I think it’s a pretty mixed record.

During the Clinton Administration, Congress enacted a law in which members of the armed forces would receive an automatic pay increase of 0.5% over the CPI increase. This is because pay raises during the early Clinton years had been pretty small, and the gap between civilian and military pay was getting so large in a tight job market that something had to be done to attract new servicemembers.

The Bush Administration has generally stuck by this formula, which is still in effect, except that it has, in a couple years, proposed somewhat greater pay increases for more experienced service members. Congress basically altered those proposals to make sure that more members of the military (especially junior ranks) got a bigger increase. Congress has also done more to make sure that special pays for those with important technical knowledge are increased more rapidly than the Administration has proposed.