What have we learned today?

I’m a copy editor. (Okay, a copy editing intern…but I did graduate already.) I have pretty good-sized chunks of downtime during my workday. Stories tend to come in bursts as news happens or deadlines are met. So I spend a lot of time reading the boards and goofing off on the computer or just staring into space. In the interests of saving my deep thoughts for posterity, I have recorded the things that I learned today for your amusement and edification.

1. We live in a universe where Trading Spaces fanfiction exists. Indeed, Trading Spaces slashfic exists. (Ty, sweetie, what have they done to you?!!)

2. Bananas have a weird banana aftertaste that doesn’t taste much like bananas.

3. The shaving cut on my ankle is itchy as all hell as it heals. It’s all I can do not to sit here and scratch at it all night.

4. It’s unavoidable that, as an intern, I don’t get my own desk, but it still isn’t fair.

5. Alchemy is a better msn Zone game than Big Money.

6. I am a geek, but the people having the Superman discussion in the Cafe have me beat, geekwise. I cannot hope to reach such geekiness. Is that good or bad?

7. The sand at Apalacicola Bay is very white. If you’re shown a picture of it, don’t blurt out “Oh, it snowed!” Memo to self: You live in Florida now.

8. KRT (that’s Knight-Ridder Tribune for those of you not in the know) is already sending Sept. 11 anniversary graphics over the wire. Nothing like thinking ahead, guys. Couldn’t we show some decency and commemorate the event with a “Let’s Pretend It Didn’t Happen” day?

9. There are no more animal crackers (“Only 2 grams of fat per serving!”) left in the snack machine. If you must panic, please do so in your designated panic subgroups.

10. I mentioned the slashfic, right? Combined with the Trading Spaces/Angel crossover…the mind boggles.